Robyn's Words

January Books

1 Comment

I follow two book clubs: Sword and Laser and Vaginal Fantasy Hangout

I’ve finished both books for these clubs already.

For Sword and Laser I read Old Man’s War by John Scalzi.  It was excellent.  Scalzi is a great writer- I also loved his Redshirts.  He writes Science Fiction, but in a very real, easy to read, approachable way.  And he is funny.  Both books made me laugh out loud.    Check him out- you’ll thank me.

For Vaginal Fantasy, the main pick was Outlander by Diana Gabaldon.  This is one of my favorite books/authors/series of all time.  Really.  I fan girled all over her at the 2011 Arizona Library Conference, and got to hear her speak at a luncheon.  Amazing.  I highly highly recommend the series- its great writing, great story, great characters, great sex scenes.  Its not your typical “highlander romance”.  There is action and romance and political intrigue and revolutions and a bit of sci-fi and I really cannot describe how good it is.  Go read it now and then we can gush about it.  So, since I’ve read this entire (ongoing) series multiple times, I decided to read the alt pick for the month- In Bed with a Highlander by Maya Banks. Ugh.  So bad.  It is a typical romance book.  Poorly written.  I didn’t care about the characters, or the plot really.  The sex scenes were explicit, but I found myself incredulous, that a virgin who didn’t know you could kiss with tongues before her wedding, was able to give an amazing blow job two days later.  I couldn’t even tell you what the hero looked like- I’m note sure they ever described him other than “big”.  I also was frustrated trying to figure out when it took place.  There is a king who was an actual King of Scotland in the 1100s, but a lot of things seemed anachronistic.  Maybe its because Gabaldon is such an excellent writer- but this book was bad. Don’t waste your time.

So- what book should I read next?

My choices:

Links:

 

One thought on “January Books

  1. Atonement is really good- but also pretty depressing. You know it’s not my usual style, but it is worth a read. I need to get into Scalzi. I want to be reading A Memory of Light right now, but Amazon hasn’t even shipped it yet so I’ll have to be patient. 😦

Leave a Reply

