Robyn's Words

Is everyone writing about resolutions now?

Leave a comment

Well, I didn’t post in 2012.  We’ll just move past that for now, maybe I’ll do a bigger post later about the year.

Since it is a new year, everyone is making resolutions.  Joe is banging away at his piano keyboard right this minute.  (And no, that’s not a euphemism)

There are things I’d like to work towards this year:

-Read.  I read a lot, and I will continue to do so.  Last year I read 90 books.  I usually set my goal 1 more than the previous year, so I’ll try for 91 this year.  Ninety was harder than I thought it would be though, sometimes I go for stretches of no reading, especially when I am into a video game or knitting.  I plan on following two Goodreads book clubs as best I can- Sword & Laser and Vaginal Fantasy.  Both are awesome and have Hangouts on the YouTube channel Geek & Sundry.  Sword & Laser also has podcasts.  Both have the awesome Veronica Belmont, and Felicia Day runs Geek & Sundry & the Vaginal Fantasy book club.

-Knit.  I have a project started for my Halloween costume.  And that’s all I’m saying about that.

-Learn to sew.  Also for Halloween.

– Write more.  Some writing will be for this blog- others for my long suffering NANOWRIMO project.

-Budget.  I’ve been using YNAB and I think I’m starting to get the hang of it.

-Feel Healthy.  This included exercise, diet, taking vitamins, etc etc.

-Genealogy.  Maybe take a trip to NYC to do some research.

-Moot.  You know who you are.

– Spend less time staring at the TV/Facebook/Pinterest.  I am using Keep Me Out to help monitor how many times I go to Facebook or Pinterest each hour.  Trying to keep the TV off or turn in to Pandora.  Been loving the Classical for Studying station, and one inspired by that which includes a lot of modern music played by string quartets.

I’m going to try to work on all these things in small increments.  I am also using a timer application to gauge how long I do these things.  I want to do the meaningful stuff more, and the time suck stuff less.

What are your goals for 2013?

Leave a Reply

