Robyn's Words

Big Sur International Marathon

Leave a comment

My husband Joe has signed up to run the Big Sur International Marathon in May.  He’s part of a team to raise money for the American Cancer Society.  He’s pledged to raise $1,500 for the Eat my Dust Cancer team.

If you would like to donate money towards Joe’s pledge you can do so here:  http://tinyurl.com/marathonjoe

Big Sur is near Monterey, CA, which some of you may remember is where Joe went to learn Pushtu about 7 years ago.  I’ve always wanted to visit that area so this should be fun.  A few of Joe’s friends have also signed up as part of the team so its a group effort and is nice to have others to train with.

Since I don’t relish the idea of just standing around for hours waiting for my friends to cross the finish line, I signed up for a 10.6 mile run/walk event at the same time.  My goal is to walk it in under 3 hours- which right now is how fast I’m going – about 1 miles in 20 minutes.  This gives me a goal to work towards while Joe trains for the marathon, and is a step towards another goal of mine to get healthier this year.

Expect more updates on this- and we would really appreciate your donation to the American Cancer Society.

Leave a Reply

