Robyn's Words

Books in 2010

3 Comments

my 2010 shelf:
Robyn Swords's book recommendations, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (2010 shelf)
I track the books I’ve read on GoodReads.  A goal I set for myself was to read more books in 2010 than 2009.  I did that by 1 book.  In 2009 I read 79 books, and this past year I read 80. I count listening to audiobooks and reading ebooks together with paper books.

Breakdown

Books Read: 80

Average Books Read per Week: 1.5

Pages Read: 29,376

Average Pages Read per Week: 564

Average Pages Read per Day: 80

Audiobooks: 4

Ebooks: 19

Graphic Novels: 9

I seemed to have read lots of Regency and Victorian set books this year. I read a ton of Georgette Heyer,  who wrote Regency romances (think Jane Austen).  I discovered Steampunk, of which I seem to like the lighter type, some of it seems a bit too technical sometimes.  Through that I started reading some mysteries set in the Victorian era, including Sherlock Holmes.  Then I started reading the Mary Russell series, of which Sherlock Holmes is a main character, but set later after WWI.

And, as usual I read lots of series.  Instead of listing individual books here’s some of the series I read all the books in:

  • Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman by Pamela Aiden
  • Lady Emily by Tasha Alexander
  • The Parasol Protectorate by Gail Carriger
  • Thursday Next by Jasper Fforde
  • Millennium by Steig Larrsson
  • Scott Pilgrim by Bryan Lee O’Malley
  • Lady Julia by Deanna Raybourn
  • All Clear by Connie Willis

I think the best book(s) I read this year was Blackout and All Clear by Connie Willis.  Blackout  is the first part, with All Clear continuing the story- its not really a series but a story cut in two.  If you read Blackout have All Clear handy because you’ll want to keep on going- I had to wait months for All Clear to be published.  What did you read this past year? What was your favorite?

Blackout blurb:

Oxford in 2060 is a chaotic place. Scores of time-traveling historians are being sent into the past, to destinations including the American Civil War and the attack on the World Trade Center. Michael Davies is prepping to go to Pearl Harbor. Merope Ward is coping with a bunch of bratty 1940 evacuees and trying to talk her thesis adviser, Mr. Dunworthy, into letting her go to VE Day. Polly Churchill’s next assignment will be as a shopgirl in the middle of London’s Blitz. And seventeen-year-old Colin Templer, who has a major crush on Polly, is determined to go to the Crusades so that he can “catch up” to her in age.

But now the time-travel lab is suddenly canceling assignments for no apparent reason and switching around everyone’s schedules. And when Michael, Merope, and Polly finally get to World War II, things just get worse. For there they face air raids, blackouts, unexploded bombs, dive-bombing Stukas, rationing, shrapnel, V-1s, and two of the most incorrigible children in all of history—to say nothing of a growing feeling that not only their assignments but the war and history itself are spiraling out of control. Because suddenly the once-reliable mechanisms of time travel are showing significant glitches, and our heroes are beginning to question their most firmly held belief: that no historian can possibly change the past.

From the people sheltering in the tube stations of London to the retired sailors who set off across the Channel to rescue the stranded British Army from Dunkirk, from shopgirls to ambulance drivers, from spies to hospital nurses to Shakespearean actors, Blackout reveals a side of World War II seldom seen before: a dangerous, desperate world in which there are no civilians and in which everybody—from the Queen down to the lowliest barmaid—is determined to do their bit to help a beleaguered nation survive

 

3 thoughts on “Books in 2010

  1. I forgot to count the Scott Pilgrim books. I’ve been keeping track on the facebook visual bookshelf app, but it is pretty lame and I’m going to use Goodreads for 2011!

    I really enjoyed the Millennium trilogy- not what I usually read but once I got started I couldn’t put them down.

  2. Aha! It took me a minute to recognize who Connie Willis was until I read your book summary. I read To Say Nothing of the Dog years ago and loved it (a $0.50 yard sale find, no less)! I will definitely check those two out.

  3. I thought To Say Nothing of the Dog was quite funny

Leave a Reply

