Robyn's Words

Yoga DVDs

1 Comment

lotuspose

So, I’ve been doing some yoga.  I really like it.  There are many different types, some slow, some fast, some to make you sweat, others to relax you.

This week I went to my first yoga class.  I really liked it.  Mostly older adults, but at least one 30-something was there.  The instructor took everything nice and slow, which is what I hoped.  Since I’ve been doing yoga at home, I knew some of the poses just by name.

I’ve tried several yoga dvds now.  Here’s what I think of them:

633023710092_50437_o

Yoga for Beginners: Barbara Benagh

The bestselling beginning yoga dvd on Amazon. This dvd is good, with clear instructions and good views of the instructor.  There are several routines, which you can choose by type (backbends, standing poses, sun salutation) or purpose (energizing, relaxing)  The poses are nice and slow, with modification given, although not always shown.  I like the instructor’s voice- very soothing. The one thing I don’t like is that the poses were filmed, then cut together, so sometimes there isn’t much flow between them.  I think this would be good if you knew a little yoga beforehand. I’ll probably buy this one.

513h2sx7hvl

Yoga for Stress Relief

With Barbara Benagh as well, the routines are broken up into purpose (insomnia, shoulders, digestive problems).  Clearly filmed at the same as Yoga for Beginners, has the same pluses and minuses.  Some poses are repeated in the routines which can be boring.  I didn’t get a chance to watch the meditation with the Dalai Lama before returning it to Netflix.

7915m

Element: Yoga for Beginners

The instructor, Elena Brower,  and instructions are pleasant, but it goes very fast, flowing from one pose to another, with not much explanation or modifications.  I made it through this a few times, but it kicked my butt.  I’ll have to return to it when I feel more confident.  An example of Anusara Yoga

yogaforbeginners

Yoga Journal’s Yoga for Beginners

With Patricia Walden.  This one is a bit dated, and the instructor wears an all-white untiard, but I like it.  It goes sloooow, with lots of good explanations ,and different camera angles, as well as modifications and props.  I’m sure I’ll get tired of the slowness after a while, but I think this is the best DVD for true beginners.  If it gets too slow I’ll move on the anther DVD- theres a second volume of this as well.  An example of Iyengar Yoga

I have some Yoga books, I’ll do a post on those another time.

Namaste!

lotus

One thought on “Yoga DVDs

  1. i lOVE yoga– i’ve never used a dvd- only classes, but they’re so expensive in the city that i’ve been thinking about dvd’s–thanks so much for the descriptions– it’s so good for you, and does such a good job at toning everything…

Leave a Reply

