Robyn's Words

Eggless French Toast with Apples

Leave a comment

recipes

I wanted to make French Toast.  But, I had no eggs.  I found this recipe for Eggless French Toast. I then adapted it to make yummy food with what I had.  If you have similar ingredients (milk, not buttermilk, pears, not apples) I’m sure you can make something similar- I was really working with what I had- ran out of margarine so was using butter, had some ginger so used that, etc.

Eggless French Toast with Apples

Ingrediants

  • 1 large granny smith apple (about 1 cup)
  • 2 slices reduced calorie whole wheat bread
  • 1/2 cup butter milk
  • 1/4 cup apple cider
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • cinnamon, vanilla extract, ginger, and brown sugar
  • apple butter to taste
  1. Peel, core, and slice the apple thinly
  2. Heat a small pan, adding HALF the butter, and brown sugar to taste (I used about 1 tablespoon)
  3. Add the apples and a splash of apple cider and ginger (again, I used about 1 tablespoon), saute until soft
  4. In a medium bowl, combine the buttermilk, apple cider, cornstarch, and the cinnamon and vanilla extract to taste
  5. Soak the 2 slices of bread in this mixture while heating the remaining half of the butter in a larger pan
  6. Cook the bread until golden brown and delicious
  7. Top with apple butter and apples

Sorry, no pics- ate it up too fast!  If 2 slices and all the apples are 1 serving, it is 8 WW pts. (Not too bad since their stuffed french toast is 7) I split half with Joe- the apples are really filling!

Leave a Reply

